Victoria Breckon


Fairview Downs, Hamilton

Kia ora,

I am Rachael and I have over 17 years experience in Home-Based Education and Care.  I am passionate about supporting children’s independence, development and learning. Tamariki in my Home-Based programme are supported to be involved in all the happenings, including activities within my home and the community. As an Educator I only have a maximum of four children in care at any one time, this enables your child to feel valued and respected for who they are as they receive specialised care in a small group. With me, they get the best of both worlds as I support and encourage children to be involved in all the experiences available to them. Through these learning opportunities they develop confidence and find their unique voice as we work together to empower your child to learn about the world around them. I believe that in order to provide the best care possible that you and I (as teacher and parents) need to work closely together and communicate openly to give your child the best. I value whanau involvement in my Home-based programme and use StoryPark also as a tool for regular communication and documentation of learning for your child. I have completed a Certificate in Family Day Care through the Open Polytechnic and have a current first aid certificate. Events I attend include Music group, Kids At Home Playgroup, Gymnastics Group, Local parks and Kids At Home Termly Events.

My home is cosy and allows for exploration of the natural world. My Nana and I are very close and share the same home, she is very much a part of the whanaungatanga that happens within my home-based programme. Respect for one another is important within my programme and children are supported and encouraged to learn with and alongside one another as we share in fun, learning and laughter. I look forward to sharing my home with you and your family!  


  • First Aid Certificate
  • Certificate in Family Daycare Orientation
  • Over 17 years experience in Home-based education and care


  • 'Rachael cared for my son fulltime from the age of 18 months to five years, and my daughter from the age of three months until she turned five and went to school. My children are nearly eight and 10 and they still have a close relationship with Rachael; which says everything really. I couldn't have graduated, registered and held down full time employment while my husband studied and worked part time, all while raising two very busy young children, without Rachael. Her homebased care environment was inclusive and fun, she was flexible and reliable, honest and very very hard working. Rachael loved my children like they were her own, and gave them the opportunities and celebrated their milestones as I would have if I was able to be at home with them. Rachael does not give up easily, and sources strategies and solutions for challenges that come her way. My childre are very busy, and have spirit, and Rachael took them under her wing and worked with me and the service in their best interests. We continue to visit Rachael and they still ring her to share their firsts with her! Rachael goes above and beyond for her care children and their families, for her friends and her family members. Rachael has a heart of gold and has wonderful morals and values. I would not hesitate to put another child with Rachael if I was to have more, and would recommend her  to anyone looking for an extraordinary Edcuator, employee, or friend' - S. Fisk 
  • 'I have known Rachael for nearly six years - since she became a carer for our eldest child and has gone on to care for both of our children. Rachael is a fantastic carer. She genuinely cares for her care children and they love coming to her home. Rachael is warm, friendly and engaging and both of our children quickly developed a rapport with her. She is always warm and professional and her home is extremely organised and clean. Rachael sets clear boundaries and children always feel safe. She takes her responsibilities seriously and has always been proactive at contining to develop her own personal and professional knowledge as a carer' - S.Shearer