Victoria Breckon


Fitzroy/Glenview, Hamilton

Hi, my name is Barbara! One thing about me is that I love my family, we are a close bunch! I am a mother of four adult children, whom I am very proud of and close to. My childrens education has led to them holding degrees, good jobs and owning their own homes here in Hamilton - Education is something I value and believe a love of learning is something that starts and should be nurtured at preschool age! 

I am also blessed to have grandchildren, on the weekends I enjoy spending time with them or I often travel over the hill to visit my mother in Tauranga. 

I am a passionate happy person that is young at heart! I have an amazing life working with children and their families - this is a very rewarding role for me. As an Educator I also value health and fitness, going on walks is a special activity that the children and I both love! Exploring, chatting and relaxing while enjoying some fresh air - perfect! I understand that routine is important for children to feel safe and secure and know what to expect in an environment, so all outings are planned accordingly. 

I have over 30 years experience of working with children of all ages/stages! I also have experience working with children who have special health requirements or learning difficulties. I am a holder of a Level Three New Zealand Certificate in Family Day Care and have also completed two University of Waikato professional development programmes. I pride myself on attending all professional development opportunities; Civil defence, First Aid pediatric and children, Parenting with confidence, the Treaty of Waitangi, Why Maori? and Messy play to name a few! 

What about my home? I have a sunny, child friendly, four bedroom home with two lounges and two toilets. It has a great outdoor flow to where the children can be seen playing at all times. My home is clean and safe with one cheeky cat! My home is located in Fitzroy, very close to Glenview, Melville - not far from the hospital or the city! It is an easy trip from Te Awamutu, Cambridge, Ohaupo or Rukahia. 

I offer a safe environment for my care children with a wide range of challenging, stimulating and satisfying toys and equipment. I pride myself on running a friendly, honest and reliable home-based care service that is smoke-free. My home-based care programme has a strong core curriculum that is tailored to the ages of the children in my care. I always encourage children to develop self-discipline and respect for both themselves and others. 

I hope to hear from you and would love to welcome you into my home to discuss home-based care for your child/ren and the aspirations you have for their learning journey! 


  • First Aid Certificate (Paediatric)
  • 30+ years experience working with children from newborn
  • Reguarly attends professional development opportunities 



Next Article Heather